Saturday, August 14, 2010

Good choices!

I went on an overnight trip to Austin with Tommy and I made some good food choices (Yay me!). I was not perfect on the diet front but I could have done some serious damage and I refrained. Friday night we went to Wendy's and I did have a few of Tommy's fries but I refrained from the Baconator and large french fries! I got the apple walnut salad, took 1/2 of the cheese off and only used 1/3 of the walnuts and 1 thing of dressing. It was good and I felt good with my choices! I was so good I even brought my own cereal for Saturday morning and resisted all the danishes! For lunch we went to Red Robin and I wanted the big old hamburger and bottomless fries really bad. I was really hungry because it was 2 PM, which is never a good thing to be when you go to a restaurant. I used my new iPhone and looked at my app for Dining Out with Jenny Craig. It listed the veggie burger as one of the good choices, of course without the mayo sauce! So that is what I did. I even substituted a salad for the fries and got the sauce on the side. It was good and it filled me up and I felt good with my choices. It is definitely a different feeling leaving a restaurant feeling not hungry versus feeling overstuffed. Feeling overstuffed and guilty is usually the feeling I feel and then I go over and over it in my mind. Beating up myself that I was not better. So, today no mental bullying by myself. It is always hard to really know how a restaurant prepares food and what the real calories are, but I controlled the part I could control and that feels good. That is all that I can do right?

Monday, August 9, 2010

It was a good week on the weight loss front. I weighed in today and am down 1.6. So that makes about 5 pounds. Not bad, but I sure wished it went faster. I could put 5 pounds on in 2 days but it takes 14 to take it off, if I am lucky! Why is that? I am sure it is for survival that Heavenly Father created our bodies that way, so we would not all starve, but it seems like there should be an easier way!

I did have some success this week when I had a very stressful time but I did not turn to food. That is major for me. Not that I did not hover in the kitchen for awhile, but not having something bad (like chocolate) in the house is a good thing. Fruit and vegetable just don't hit the spot for stress eating.

Here is to another week of success that will hopefully show results on the scale!

Friday, August 6, 2010

I sure love food!

Well, at my first weigh in I lost 3.5 lbs. Not great for the first week but I will take it. Today however was not a very "good" day. I did a lot of "BLT's" No, that is not Bacon, Lettuce and tomato. BLT stands for Bites, licks, tastes. The thing that Mom's are notorious for. I kept catching myself licking the spoon or eating a fry from the kid's meal. Of course I caught myself after I had eaten it so that was not good. But tomorrow is another day and I did take the kids to the pool today. I almost got on my treadclimber. I sure thought about it fora long while, but m leg is not 100% yet so I reluctantly refrained! ;)

So hopefully this weekend will go well. we have a neighborhood picnic tomorrow so wish me luck. I have to bring a side so I will make sure at least something is healthy!